Cubs Win! Cubs Win! � 03.19.04

Okay so 5 months from now I want to be the one shouting it from the rooftops. This is our year baby! Now that we have Maddux (and even though he BLEW it yesterday in Spring Training) I'm pretty confident we're going to make it to the World Series.

I was walking around Wrigleyville (where I live) the other day and I was just so damn happy that I live in this great city. I was smiling from ear to ear like a big goof but I just couldn't help it.

I was especially thinking of the great people i have met here and the friends I have made. They have made such an impact on my life, I can't even begin to explain.

I mean how great is it when someone makes you think a different way and see things in a whole new light?

For example, before I moved here i didn't even associate with people who smoked pot. Now before i go any further let me just say i was a tad "sheltered" before I went to college. The "Just Say No" commercial really worked for me okay? :)

It was in college that i discovered :gasp: White kids do pot too?!?!

So needless to say it was a bit of a shocker to see it so rampant in the dorms and on campus.

Anyways, fast forward to the present. I'm still apprehensive about even associating myself or being in the same room with a person who is getting high/is high already. I don't know why, I guess i just equate drug use with everything i've seen in the movies. I thought if i just did drugs once i would be instantly transformed into an addict, homeless, stinking up the joint and ostracized from my family and friends and eventually kill myself.

Now i know that yes, there are completely "normal" intelligent people who aren't named Spicolli who have good jobs and in some cases families (which i'm not too jazzed about).

But i guess my point through this whole epic that i have now written is that I can actually sit in the same room with mr. or ms. pothead and even though i'm stone cold sober and straight, i can still have a good time.

Speaking of sober, i haven't had a drop of alcohol in a month. Now for me that is pretty big since my co workers and i would get shitty once a week. Once a week turned into 2-3 times a week before i realized i was quickly going broke and more racist the more i would drink. (don't ask about the racist thing, im still not sure where that part of me comes from. All i know is alcohol seriously accelerated that behavior and almost caused me to get my ass kicked by a couple mexicans). 0 comments so far


newest archives profile best of design host guestbook