It's my birthday and I'll bitch if I want to. � 09.09.04

I awake at 4 in the morning to the sound of hammering and moving of furniture across the hardwood floor.

"Hmmm, I wonder what lovely activities my roommate is participating in?" I think to myself.

I open the door and see my roommate's friend and my neighbor moving something that looks like a shelf.

Me: "What the fuck are you doing?"

Them: "Oh nothing, just moving unnecessary furniture."

Me: "Well that's just genius. Moving shit at 4am!" (Slam door)

I awake this morning to find that MY hutch is gone. The top part with the glasses and wine bottles is gone. In it's place is the bottom part with the pots and pans...moved over to reveal the window in all it's glory.

Oh crap...What the hell did she do???

I peek out in the hallway and see that the hutch is there.

Okay well at least she didn't throw it in the dumpster. Score one point for common sense.

The rest of the kitchen was in complete disaray...The wine bottles and dishes and glasses were in a corner on the counter all bunched up...The table in the kitchen had shit all over it that was once on the top of the hutch...Basically proving her attempt to make the kitchen look nice and support her arguement that the hutch is "unecessary furniture", fell apart halfway through the night.

I left her a nasty note this morning telling her to put it back and threw some f-bombs in there for the hell of it.

I think my neighbor coaxed her into thinking it was a good idea to get rid of it to "let the sunshine in."

Needless to say, I'm pretty sure pot and alcohol were involved as well.

I imagine the conversation went something like this:

Neighbor: "Vanessa, you need to get rid of that hutch. Let the sun shine in that window. You can't even tell you have a window there. I keep telling Michelle that too but she doesn't seem to listen."

Vanessa: "You know what? That's a great idea! I should do that sometime."

Neighbor: "How about right now? I'll help you!"

Vanessa: "Okay sure! It's only 4 am. I'm sure Michelle won't even wake up or mind that I'm moving her shit around and making tons of noise."

One hour later...

Vanessa: "Shit...where am I going to put all this stuff that I just took out of the hutch? Oh well, I'll just leave it out and decide some other time."

And all of this on my birthday. Damn her for ruining my morning.

Here's hoping my afternoon goes a lot better.

I've already gotten a nice bouquet of flowers and a card from Erika. And of course some drinking will be taking place in T minus 7 hours.

6 hours and 59 minutes....58....57....

9 comments so far


newest archives profile best of design host guestbook