MMMMM, Tastes like dead people! � 06.07.04

So I have good excuse for not updating this: I had connective gum grafting surgery.

Basically, because my gums are receding, it was necessary to add tissue to my gums. How is this possible you ask? Well, they either take tissue from the roof of your mouth (ouch) or most of the time they use cadaver tissue.

Can you say "NASTY" Janet Jackson style?

The surgery itself was pretty simple. Only took about 40 minutes. And guess what they gave me for the pain besides ibuprofen? Vicadin! Nice.

Fortunately, or unfortunately depending on how you look at it, I only needed to take one the night of the surgery. So now i got a whole bottle of Vicadin to share with my friends and neighbors. :)

No really, i've had 3 or 4 offers from people to get that shit. Sharing is caring people.

So the rules are I can't brush or floss on the left side of my mouth (where the surgery took place) for 3 freaking weeks. Ew. So they gave me this mouthwash to use and of course you're supposed to just use it twice a day but you can bet i'm gargling that stuff on a daily basis.

I can only eat soft foods for 3 weeks. I didn't realize how much of a chore this was until I got done eating dinner the other night and realized my taste buds are seriously being neglected here. I have a whole side of mouth that i can't use! So now no matter what I eat i'm not satisfied at all.

No eating anything with seeds or anything crunchy. Seedless foods is no problem but crunchy is everything i like: Chips, cereal, cookies...a bunch of other foods i can't think of at the moment. If anything i'll end up losing a bunch of weight at the end of all of this.

So now that I have dead people in my mouth, who wants to make out?

0 comments so far


newest archives profile best of design host guestbook