The heart of Rock N Roll is not beating anymore � 08.23.04

I make the trip from Chicago to Cleveland (where I'm from) about once every two/three months. After making this road trip at least a dozen times or more, I have appointed myself �DJ for the entire Midwest.�

I can tell you exactly what songs are going to be played from 6 at night in Illinios/Indiana to midnight by the time I get home to Ohio.

I change stations in my car like someone who has Tourret�s or ADD or both. I never commit to a location until I examine all possible options.

For instance, there could be �Oye coma Va� by Santana on one station and even if it�s been awhile since I�ve heard it, I keep scanning until I�m sure that�s what I want to hear. Like, "Head to Toe" by Lisa Lisa would have to take precedence, because really, who doesn't like a little Lisa Lisa in their life?

I can scan for a good solid two minutes until I find something I like. This does not make anyone who drives with me very happy. It�s enough to drive you insane.

The one good thing about this road trip is that at any time you can get a good clear radio station coming from anywhere in the tri-state area once you hit Indiana. There�s even one station that claims they serve �the Michi-ana Area.� I thought that was cute. Kinda gay, but cute.

With that, I give you�

The Top 10 songs guaranteed to be heard on my six hour road trip:

1.�Panama� by Van Halen. This songs keeps making it back on the radio like a bad dream.

2.�1999� by Prince. The classic 80�s staple that makes it on the radio.

3.�Your Body is a Wonderland� by John Mayer. The only ounce of respect I have for this guy is that he became popular by word of mouth and hardly any radio play at all. After that, I still can�t listen to someone who sings through their nose. It just ain�t right.

4.�Pink Houses� by John Cougar Mellencamp. This is always always played in Indiana. Seems they still can�t let us forget where this guy came from.

5.�In Da Club� by 50 Cent. I can�t even comment on this anymore. I was actually one of those people who thought �This song will never get old! I llllove it!� Guess what? It did get old. It just took about a year to do it.

6.�Owner of a Lonely Heart� by Yes. This song always freaks me out because I can still see the video for it and that guy jumping off that building. Gave me nightmares when i was little.

7.�The Day the Music Died� by Don McLean. Considering it�s 11 minutes long I guess this is a given at anytime of the day.

8."What I like about You." I forget who sings it but this song never escapes the trip. Reminds me of a high school dance when some chick in my class was trying to dance to the lyric "up down and jump around" and fell on her ass. Good times.

9.�Kiss Me� by Sixpence none the Richer. I can�t explain the angst I feel when this song comes on. I just need to hear the first two notes and I quickly switch to something else. ANYTHING else.

10.�Can�t Let Go� by Mariah Carey. Believe it or not I actually like this song since it was in her pre-slut stage. Plus it reminds me of this guy I was obsessed with in the 7th grade. Oh how I lusted after him so pathetically.

There are more of course. Pat Benetar makes it on there a few times, some Van Morrison, Outkast. Someday I could compile a list of songs and how much they anger me on a scale of 1 to 5.

1 = Oh this song isn't so bad.

2 = This is slowly pissing me off everytime i hear it.

3 = I�d rather listen to a crappy country song. Oh wait, all country is crap.

4 = I�d rather gouge my eyeballs out with a pencil.

5= I�d rather die.

But that's for another time. Feel free to use that scale next time you're in your car. It's my gift to you. 8 comments so far


newest archives profile best of design host guestbook